Oopsie.

I have decided to stick with love.  Hate is too great a burden to bear. – MLK

The stock market is closed today, so I get to enjoy another day of weekend.   I had big plans for today (PS – I always make big plans for those extra days off when Q still has school.  Just tuck that away for later).

I intended to:  make a Target run since I didn’t  go yesterday, finish the laundry, rearrange my entire closet and drawers – purge and donate, and make dinner.  This wasn’t outside the realm of doable, right?  

What I did today:  slept in, watched movies (all that have been preivously watched), and will be making dinner.  I may even throw together this Salad for lunch this week.  

I actually wanted to do my clothes – they are everywhere and I can never find what I want and there are never enough hangers.  Buuuut…I didn’t.  I find it nice sometimes, not not be a wife/mom and to just be a lazy version of myself that gets to do all of the little things that make me happy – and to do them uninterrupted.  

So, I updated my planner and played some mahjong on my iPad and changed my Jams.  And I didn’t feel a pang of guilt.  I have learned another lesson in my growth exploration (don’t laugh – I know most of ya’ll already practice this):  you don’t have to do it if you don’t want to.  Yes, I could have easily used this time to do things that may be more difficult if I’ve got Q with me, or if there are other people home and milling around.  But, laziness is a part of me.  We like to “relax” and enjoy feeling relaxed.  I work all week long, my weekends are usually full of dance class, errands and entertainment.  

I feel relaxed and at ease, and tomorrow I’ll wake up and start a new day.  I’ll get to Target.  I can do the laundry in the evenings after work.  I’m sure I’ll find something suitable to wear to work this week. It’s not a big deal.  And for just about the first time, I believe that.

Leave a comment